9 Comments

Ooof, sorry about the Covid! I want to get back into a creative rhythm with the tiny agent of anarchy. I was hoping to write tonight, and the puppy / universe heard me, and vomited on my feet. But I made mediocre brownies and ate the batter. 2024 theme: accept the anarchy, eat the batter.

Expand full comment
author

Eat 👏🏽 the 👏🏽 batter 👏🏽! I can’t wait to read more of your writing to come on this theme (and your adorable puppy/agent of anarchy).

Expand full comment

Best recovery wishes to you and your family with COVID, Ryan Rose!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you so much!

Expand full comment

Oof what good timing! I’m on the couch with an infected tooth and the ensuing agony so my creative dreams for 2024 feel very far away. But my priority this year is to deepen and expand my writing in the hope that it will reach readers in a way that moves them. And that I will be healthier in 2024 - 2023 was a rough one for my poor, exhausted body. Thanks for asking (& sharing!)

Expand full comment
author

Clare, it sounds like your body has been through so much! May the community you find here, and through your own writing, be the hidden humble wheelbarrow you need to help carry you through these difficult stretches, where it all feels impossible.

Expand full comment

First off, so sorry COVID has struck your family! I know so many people who've been struck but RSV or COVID, or Norovirus: a tough season indeed.

Second, I love The Princess Bride. This scene is a perfect metaphor for thinking through these impossible circumstances and the reminder that unseen support may be closer than you think. I've got a story that wants my time. Barriers include: launching my nonprofit which requires more hours in any day than I have; the trauma at the base of the story (or poem) requires some willingness to open it up and the known downside is the recovery time after. The calls and emails from tour guests (my bread and butter). etc.

Expand full comment
author

Jacqueline, thanks so much for the well wishes. It's our first go-round with COVID, weirdly, so I'm thankful for that? It's still been quite a doozy in terms of the symptoms and logistics.

And, I'm so glad you share my love for The Princess Bride! I can completely empathize with finding it difficult to face internal resistance to excavating more details from a difficult time. Especially when you have so many other bread-and-butter calls for your attention, from paid work to pro bono. I'm noticing a distinctive uptick lately in the popularity of writing programs and instructors that incorporate some sort of somatic work alongside their craft coaching. Are there any particular ways in which you like to regulate your nervous system before and after you storm the castle of a tricky piece of personal writing?

And: I'm interested to hear more about your nonprofit, if you care to share! Changing the world for the better is enormously creative work <3

Expand full comment

It's my favorite thing, the thing I'm most grateful for, the most supposed to be doing it-est thing I've done. FAN Chinatown is a fresh 501 (c) (3) serving Chinatown in three ways: improving food access for seniors, helping restaurants in Chinatown move from surviving to thriving, and expanding public art. The idea presented itself, when I learned through my treasurer who'd just come from a food delivery stint -- that people were going hungry right under my nose. !! I occupy a unique space here in Chinatown. I'm not Chinese but I know a lot about it, the food, the culture. I can be a bridge for outsiders, into Chinatown, into Chinese culture. I'll always be an outsider esp. being Japanese and speaking no Cantonese. But years of teaching outsiders to love and respect it as I do, has gotten me some appreciation. So grateful esp. since none of this is owed me. This nonprofit calls on all the things I'm good at: inspiring action, advocacy, building community, educating in an entertaining way, offering donors a way to make a difference, public speaking; networking...all in service of my community. Saturday after midnight, a fire broke out on Hudson St. the old BBQ shop I used to bring tours to for years is damaged, a family with two small children is displaced. No loss of life but imagine the loss for these people? How scared those children must be, how worried the parents and business owner must be.

I walked over Sunday morning and shot the short video on my IG. Already donations are coming in. I reached out to any contacts in the city and at various agencies, friends and neighbors. feeding and nurturing. FAN stands for these things, and we're working out how to get the family what they need to build a little stability right now. You can learn more about FAN on our website fanchinatown.org and anyone can donate and designate Hudson St fire.

TY

Expand full comment